Moving to Ireland

Good morning everyone!

I’ve been quite busy lately. I went home to visit my family in Germany and now I am in Cork, Ireland! I will start a new job next week. Having travelled for more than four years now, I always think things will get easier, but for someone like me who is quite anxious, I get incredibly nervous every time. It’s good to get out of your comfort zone, but it’s always a challenging adventure. Sometimes the struggle seems too much, even though I know that it’s usually worth it. I have gotten more relaxed and usually know that things will work out (and if not, there is always another solution around the corner!) eventually.

Cork
The view onto the River Lee.

I have arrived in Cork on Sunday. It seems like a nice city, I really enjoy the river with all the bridges and the cute buildings in the center. I’ve had to organize quite a few things first though, getting a PPS number (done) and then trying to get a bank account (still ongoing – more difficult than I thought it would be) and finding accommodation. I stayed at a hostel for the first two nights, now I’m moving to an airbnb place for the first few weeks. Ireland is very expensive, I have to get used to that first. I’m not sure how long I’ll stay – it depends on my job as well. I still miss Australia and New Zealand a lot…

Can’t wait to visit Cobh and Kinsale and see the ocean. Any recommendations for things to do in and around Cork?

Leave a Reply

