Why leaving doesn’t necessarily mean running away

Be brave. Take risks. Nothing can substitute experience. – Paulo Coelho

I know that a lot of people think that long term travelers are running away from something. And while that might be true in some cases, exploring a new country and culture where nobody already has an opinion about you, can help to grow and solve some bad habits. When I was 18 and I worked as an Au Pair in Ireland, I wasn’t ready yet for this experience as my life had been quite messy and it was all too much.

Later on, when I flew to New Zealand in 2013, I knew that I just wasn’t made for working in an office 9-5, but I had some money saved up and was already a bit more independent. Leaving was the best thing that happened to me at that point. In the land of the long white cloud, I learned more about me, learned how to be more present. I felt like a happier person and especially I felt for the first time that I can trust life. That things will flow as long as I surrender. That problems don’t mean the end of the world. I think traveling helped me out of this dark circle of negative thoughts.

I like living. I have sometimes been wildly, despairingly, acutely miserable, racked with sorrow, but through it all I still know quite certainly that just to be alive is a grand thing. – Agatha Christie

Since then I have seen more countries, I tried a lot of new things and even if I struggle sometimes, I deal with situations differently. And always: I try as best as I can to love myself. So don’t be afraid to risk something. Or, be afraid, but do not let you stop this from experiencing something that might just turn out to be wonderful.

 

 

Leave a Reply

